Blue Öyster Cult

Cult Classic

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Perhaps recognizing Columbia Records' failure to release a proper greatest-hits album, Blue Öyster Cult re-recorded its best-known material on this collection, which was tied into the broadcast of a TV mini-series version of Stephen King's The Stand, a horror novel that had mentioned BÖC's hit "(Don't Fear) The Reaper." The selection of songs here is good, and this edition of BÖC (original members Eric Bloom, Allen Lanier, and Donald "Buck Dharma" Roeser, plus replacement members Chuck Burgi and Jon Rogers) re-creates the original recordings closely. But they are re-recordings. (The album contains 12 tracks, plus extra performances of "(Don't Fear) The Reaper" and "Godzilla" in so-called "TV mixes" -- i.e., without vocals).

blue highlight denotes track pick