Patsy Cline

Cry Not for Me

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

CRY NOT FOR ME brings together 20 of the 51 recordings Patsy Cline made for the Four Star company between 1955 and 1960. Unlike some of the many Cline compilations out there, this one actually includes songwriter credits and track lengths, but that's about it for documentation--only the MCA reissues include anything resembling personnel credits and session dates, and even they do so only sporadically. Having said that, there's plenty of great material here.

Patsy Cline tried her hand at recording rockabilly, r&b--inflected pop and torchy ballads as well as honky tonk during the first part of her career, all of which is well represented on CRY NOT FOR ME. "Three Cigarettes In An Ashtray" may be the archetypal Cline heartbreaker, but this set also includes the blue, late-night "Don't Ever Leave Me Again" and "Then You'll Know." "Turn The Cards Slowly," from her first session, is in the western swing vein, "Stop Look And Listen" is unrepentant rockabilly, and "The Heart You Break May Be Your Own" is straight up country. By the early '60s Cline had succeeded in crossing over to the pop market but on these recordings she's still playing it fast and loose.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 02:41
2 02:39
3 02:02
4 02:17
5 02:56
6 02:34 Spotify
7 02:56
8 02:33
9 02:13
10 02:10
11 02:29
12 02:37
13 03:26
14 02:03
15 02:29
16 02:27
17 02:26
18 02:26
19 02:11
20 02:25
blue highlight denotes track pick