Brad Roberts

Crash Test Dude

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This CD is a real shame. Brad Roberts is one of the most gifted songwriters (God Shuffled His Feet is pure brilliance), so one would be excited at the prospect of a solo CD. Sadly, this debut as a solo artist is embarrassing. Choosing to debut with a live disc was not a good idea, as this CD is full of Roberts' rants and childish cover versions. It is also the performance of an artist who does not seem to care a great deal about his audience. Sure, the Crash Test Dummies hits are here, in stripped-down, almost acoustic versions. And it is for those songs alone that CD even deserves a listen. The versions are nowhere near as good as the original studio recordings, but at least they have a form, are complete, and are listenable. His version of Britney Spears' "Baby One More Time" following a poem titled "Circumcision" is neither funny or ironic. It is plain pathetic. And his rants between songs are just the ramblings of a drunken performer (he makes it clear that he continues to drink throughout the show). On this CD he is just not funny. And if he does not have that talent, why feature it on a CD? The humor is full of anger and at times borders on offensive, which may have been his plan. Roberts has demonstrated his humor in the past in video and in song, but here it is just vulgar. Musically, he tackles (or attacks) Tom Jones, ZZ Top, Johnny Cash, and the Replacements, to name a few, and none of it is very good. The playing is sloppy and at times approaches unlistenable. One wonders if he hates these artists, or is paying some form of tribute. To be honest, it is never clear, but one thing that is clear is that he should stick to his own material. This CD is strictly for hardcore fans.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time
1 1:51
2 3:04
3 1:08
4 3:38
5 2:51
6 0:35
7 4:09
8 3:28
11 1:05
12 4:18
13 3:09
14 2:43
15 1:00
16 4:59
17 1:23
18 3:51
19 1:03
20 3:12
21 4:08
22 2:31
23 4:32
24 2:53
25 1:10
26 4:35
27 1:30
28 2:52
29 3:32
31 5:26
32 0:51
blue highlight denotes track pick