Webb Pierce

Country Music Time

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Decca Records issued a series of single-artist albums in the mid-'60s with the title Country Music Time, perhaps as their answer to RCA's Our Man In... series. Kitty Wells, Jimmy Martin, Tex Williams, and Webb Pierce were among the artists in the series, which suggests a traditional country emphasis, or at least an orientation toward veteran country stars. Pierce's entry is nothing special -- he merely punches the time clock with covers of classic country songs from "Night Train to Memphis" to "Rainbow at Midnight." One new song, "Loving You Then Losing You," is a run-of-the-mill Wayne P. Walker and Max Powell song that became a minor hit. Pierce could have recorded an album like this every day of the week as long as the session players showed up. He picked a few particularly good songs, such as "I Still Miss Someone" and the Jim Reeves hit "I'm Gonna Change Everything," but there is nothing exceptional to distinguish Country Music Time from the most workmanlike of Pierce's '60s albums.

blue highlight denotes track pick