Ennio Morricone


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The soundtrack to CONTROL, Anton Corbijn's 2007 biopic about Joy Division frontman Ian Curtis, not only features songs by the revered British post-punk band, it also includes tracks by artists that influenced the act and snippets of film dialogue. In addition to gloriously melancholy Joy Division classics such as "Love Will Tear Us Apart," "Atmosphere," and "Transmission" (the latter performed by the cast, who learned to play the song for the movie), the collection presents vintage tracks by David Bowie (the eerie "Warszawa," which gave the Manchester quartet its original name) and Kraftwerk (the sprawling, synth-propelled "Autobahn"), among others. Making CONTROL even more intriguing are three appropriately moody instrumental tracks (see the dreamy "Hypnosis") written specifically for the film by New Order, the surviving members of Joy Division, giving the compilation an added note of poignancy.

blue highlight denotes track pick