Bucky Pizzarelli


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Father and son duos are relatively rare in jazz but there's no generation gap apparent between Bucky and John Pizzarelli. The two have made a number of strong LPs and CDs together (and individually as well), although it is tough to lavish sufficient praise on this duo-guitar date, played primarily on seven-string electric guitars. Each man adapts equally well, whether in the lead, providing rhythmic support for the other, or matching his partner's lyricism while playing the head of a song. An invigorating "Three Little Words" introduces the two masterful guitarists with a flourish, followed by a lightly swinging take of "Jersey Bounce," the bluesy "Two Funky People," and the strutting acoustic duet "Test Pilot." Bucky is featured on two unaccompanied miniatures, "My Romance" and the rarely heard "For Whom the Bell Tolls." Very highly recommended.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 3:56 Spotify
2 3:00 Spotify
3 6:54 Spotify
4 2:30 Spotify
5 2:41 Spotify
6 6:05 Spotify
2:37 Spotify
8 4:33 Spotify
9 5:40 Spotify
10 6:41 Spotify
11 2:48 Spotify
12 4:50 Spotify
13 1:50 Spotify
14 4:41 Spotify
15 2:17 Spotify
16 2:09 Spotify
blue highlight denotes track pick