Blue Collar Special / JFA / The Worthless

Concrete Waves

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by Richie Unterberger

Five songs by three bands each make up this release of skatepunk tunes, whose 15 songs, in keeping with the economy of the genre, pass by in a mere 33 minutes. Five songs each by J.F.A., Blue Collar Special, and the Worthless, sometimes blatantly or subtly skate-themed, take up the program, sequenced so that a song by Blue Collar Special is always following J.F.A., and a song by Worthless always following Blue Collar Special. J.F.A. is the only band here that people outside the skatepunk scene are likely to have heard of and, in truth, the groups and the individual songs aren't too much different from each other in tone. It's fast, nearly hardcore punk, with the buzzy guitars and throaty vocals common to the style, propelled by anthemic celebrations of skateboarding and rage against the forces that sometimes keep them from the concrete. J.F.A.'s "No More Excuses," for instance, is a series of complaints about the excuses those lame-os might use to delay or cancel their skate sessions. Don't think these guys have one-track minds: the Worthless' "Yeah Baby" displays similar enthusiasm for sex, if executed with as much subtle speed as skateboarders might take a hurdle. Let's hope the groups show more imagination in their skating than they do as musicians, though.

blue highlight denotes track pick