Sleepy John Estes

Complete Works, Vols. 1-2

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Document's two-volume collection of Sleepy John Estes' recordings contains everything the bluesman cut between 1929 and 1941, presented in chronological order. Although there is plenty of fine muisc on the collection, the presentation is overwhelming for anyone but completists and historians. If you're neither, stick with Yazoo's single-disc collection, I Ain't Gonna Be Worried No More.