Blind Roosevelt Graves

Complete Recorded Works (1929-1936)

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The Document collection Complete Recorded Works (1929-1936) includes all 21 sides recorded by Blind Roosevelt Graves as a solo act, before he formed the Mississippi Jook Band in 1936. Many classic performances are featured, including "I Shall Not Be Moved," "Telephone to Glory," "Take Your Burden to the Lord," and "Guitar Boogie," most of them performed with help from Graves' brother, Uaroy. And since this is the only compilation available covering Graves, interested parties will be able to overlook the long running time and poor fidelity to own so much good music.

blue highlight denotes track pick