Various Artists

Comfort Zone, Vol. 1

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The R.02 label's Comfort Zone series of downtempo collections features some of the more prominent artists associated with the laid-back style of armchair-orientated dance music. The first volume in the series boasts several noteworthy names, including Theivery Corporation ("Lebanese Blonde"), I:Cube ("Tropiq," from the Adore album), To Rococo Rot ("Prado," from the Amateur View album), Trüby Trio ("Donaueschingen," originally released by the impressive Compost label), and Richard Dorfmeister (his "Surreal Dub" of Akasha's "Soft & Melting"). Overall, this collection compiles not only a diverse array of producers but also draws them from an even more diverse array of labels, helping make this collection such an adventurous listen. Subsequent volumes are very similar. If you like this one you'll probably like the others.

blue highlight denotes track pick