Various Artists

Combo Vocal Groups, Vol. 1

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Combo Vocal Groups, issued by the Ace label, documents some of the doo wop records released by the Combo label. Much of the material included here is receiving legitimate release on CD for the very first time. Boasting remastered sound and loving preservation, it might not be essential listening for those who are getting their feet wet with doo wop, but it obviously provides a necessary service to longtime followers of the fertile, historic genre. The Native Boys ("Tears"), Jesse Blevin ("One Little Blessing"), Carl Ell & His Buddies ("Sunshine"), the Squires ("Let's Give Love a Try"), Gene Moore & the Chimes ("Reap What You Sow"), and Combo head Jake Porter with his partners the Laurels ("Fine Fine Baby") are featured.

blue highlight denotes track pick