Arnett Cobb

Cobb and His Mob in Concert Featuring Dinah Washington

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Formerly released on LP by an obscure collector's label, this live session features two different groups. Despite the fact that tenor saxophonist Arnett Cobb and singer Dinah Washington get co-billing, they actually never appear together. The first seven selections feature Cobb and an unidentified group; chances are that the sextet also includes trumpeter Ed Lewis and trombonist Dickie Harris. The enthusiastic tenorman sounds in top form during the basic material which includes "Jumpin' the Blues," "Smooth Sailin'," and "When I Grow Too Old to Dream." Dinah Washington is showcased on six selections with her rhythm section of the era (pianist Johnny Acea, bassist Keter Betts, and drummer Jimmy Cobb), mostly lesser-known material such as "It's Too Soon to Know," "Make Believe Dreams," and "Journey's End," in addition to covering Sarah Vaughan's hit "It's Magic." The closing number, "I Got It Bad," has the singer joined by veteran trumpeter Cootie Williams. Overall the recording quality is pretty good, making this a worthwhile purchase.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 4:22
2 2:53
3 3:52
4 3:11
5 4:38
6 5:15
7 5:41
8 2:20
9 2:11
10 2:56
11 1:03
13 3:04
14 5:08
blue highlight denotes track pick