Various Artists

Clubland, Vol. 18

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Showing no signs of losing their grip on the commercial dance scene, the influential Clubland brand returns with the 18th installment of its hugely successful compilation series. The three-CD, 55-track collection features remixes of number one singles from Cheryl Cole, Rihanna, and Taio Cruz; club hits from regular contributors Darren Styles, Ultrabeat, and Flip & Fill; Hi-NRG cover versions from Loveline (Backstreet Boys' "Shape of My Heart"), Booty Callers (Cee-Lo Green's "Forget You"), and the Mad Hatters (Daughtry's "What About Now"); and underground anthems from Michael Mind Project, Italo Brothers, and Fearless and Lois. Highlights from the first disc include Duck Sauce's Boney M.-sampling party favorite "Barbra Streisand," Inna's bouncy Europop duet with Bob Taylor "Deja Vu," and Jonas Jerberg's funky remix of Shontelle's power ballad "Impossible." Die Antwoord's utterly bizarre but compelling "Enter the Ninja," Martin Solveig and Dragonette's highly infectious "Hello," and Junior Caldera's handbag house collaboration with Sophie Ellis-Bextor, "Can't Fight This Feeling," are the standouts from disc two, while '90s dance icons Nightcrawlers' comeback "Cryin' Over You," Stromae's French-language smash "Alors on Danse," and Edward Maya's accordion-led "Stereo Love" are the choice cuts from the third. Dance music purists will shake their heads at the inclusion of pop acts like the Saturdays, the Wanted, and Pixie Lott, but the Clubland series has always focused on the more commercial chart sounds of the genre, and with exclusive previously unreleased tracks from Cascada and Wiley also featured, this 2010 collection ensures that it still reigns supreme as the number one dance compilation.

blue highlight denotes track pick