Original TV Soundtrack

Cleveland Rocks!: Music from the Drew Carey Show

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Discounting The Simpsons, The Drew Carey Show appreciated the comedic possibilities of music, working musical numbers and dance routines into episodes -- in fact, each season had a different musical number as its opening, whether it was Drew singing "Moon Over Parma" or the entire cast dancing to the Vogues' "Five O'Clock World" or dancing and lip-synching the Presidents of the United States of America's cover of Ian Hunter's "Cleveland Rocks." All this means that it more suited for a soundtrack than many of its sitcom peers, and Rhino dutifully assembled Cleveland Rocks! Music from the Drew Carey Show. For some listeners, 20 tracks may be overkill, but the album contains a nice balance of performances lifted from the show -- including Carey's "High Hopes," Kira ("Mandy") and "God Bless America," plus the Winfred-Louder Staff's "Working in the Coal Mine" and "Tomorrow," as well as the Reverend Horton Heat's "Now, Right Now" -- and songs that have featured heavily in the show ("Five O'Clock World," "Shake Your Groove Thing," "Lust for Life" and "Cleveland Rocks," included in both the Presidents' remake and the Hunter original). In short, it's almost everything a Drew Carey fan could want (even though a version of "A Taste of Honey" would have been nice), and it certainly evokes the nutty charm of the show.

blue highlight denotes track pick