Clear Static

Clear Static

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Hollywood pop group Clear Static have clearly immersed themselves in the work of 1980s new wave bands like Duran Duran, but their boy band-for-hipsters image is pure 21st century. "Make-Up Sex" is lispily erotic with a motoring beat and fey Brit-sounding vocals (a description that could also apply to many of the other songs here), while "Dancing With Strangers" is a Europop ballad par excellence, and the ambitious pop opus "Love Rockets" makes good use of its synthesized percussion breaks. Songs like the Cure-meets-bubblegum "Tuesday on My Mind" and the Spandau Ballet-like "Careless Lies" will doubtless work themselves into the psyches of many who should know better; ephemeral as spun candy, Clear Static's sound is also as addictive.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 4:11 SpotifyAmazon
2 3:27 SpotifyAmazon
3 3:31 SpotifyAmazon
4 3:51 SpotifyAmazon
5 3:41 SpotifyAmazon
6 4:01 SpotifyAmazon
7 3:11 SpotifyAmazon
8 3:58 SpotifyAmazon
9 3:38 SpotifyAmazon
10 2:56 SpotifyAmazon
11 3:17 SpotifyAmazon
12 3:26 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick