Classics 1951-1952

Erroll Garner

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Classics 1951-1952 Review

by arwulf arwulf

The 13th installment in the massively comprehensive Classics Erroll Garner chronology opens with three eloquently rhapsodic unaccompanied piano solos he cut for the Recorded in Hollywood label in Los Angeles in February 1951, during one of his happy-go-lucky deviations from contractual commitments to a major company (in this case, Columbia Records). Six months later, bolstered by bassist John Simmons and drummer Rossiere "Shadow" Wilson, Garner dished up eight beautiful performances that either softly glow with a gentle languor ("Sophisticated Lady," "You're Blasé") or emit sparks of rambunctious merriment ("Margin for Erroll" and "Robbins Nest"). The interplay among the three men is a marvel to behold; the almost rascally flavor of "Ain't She Sweet?" is guaranteed to please. On January 3, 1952, this trio waxed another ten sides for Columbia, including two extended tracks -- four minutes each -- for issue on the new LP format. This slice of the Garner chronology is exceptionally satisfying, particularly on account of the presence of master percussionist Shadow Wilson. If you're looking for dignified, well-played piano jazz, warmly laid-back at times but regularly spiced with bursts of joyous invention, try this.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Erroll Garner 03:28 Amazon
Erroll Garner 02:52 Amazon
Erroll Garner 03:12 Amazon
4 Erroll Garner 02:42 Amazon
5 Erroll Garner 02:50 Amazon
6 Erroll Garner 02:43 Amazon
7 Erroll Garner 02:48 Amazon
8 Erroll Garner 02:22 Amazon
9 Erroll Garner 03:18 Amazon
10 Erroll Garner 03:13 Amazon
11 Erroll Garner 03:16 Amazon
12 Erroll Garner 02:28 Amazon
13 Erroll Garner 03:09 Amazon
14 Erroll Garner 03:01 Amazon
15 Erroll Garner 02:40 Amazon
16 Erroll Garner 03:34 Amazon
17 Erroll Garner 03:33 Amazon
18 Erroll Garner 03:21 Amazon
19 Erroll Garner 02:50 Amazon
20 Erroll Garner 04:15 Amazon
21 Erroll Garner 04:04 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick