Classic Sinatra II

Frank Sinatra

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Classic Sinatra II Review

by Stephen Thomas Erlewine

A sequel to Capitol's 2000 Classic Sinatra, 2009's Classic Sinatra II rounds up another 20 tracks from Sinatra's seminal '50s recordings for Capitol, adding the previously unreleased (and just fine) "This Can't Be Love" as mild collector bait. This, of course, isn't for diehards who have the classic concept albums that provide the source material for this set; this is for casual fans who want highlights -- highlights like "Too Marvelous for Words," "Love and Marriage," "(Love Is) The Tender Trap," "Moonlight in Vermont," "High Hopes," and "I've Got a Crush on You." By and large, these songs aren't quite as well known as those on the first collection, which did an excellent job of offering up all the biggest Capitol hits from Frank, but that's hardly a slight on the quality of the music here, as it's all superb, a terrific companion volume to Classic Sinatra for those listeners who, for whatever reason, don't wish to dig into the actual albums.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Frank Sinatra 02:39 Amazon
2 Frank Sinatra 02:29
3 Frank Sinatra 02:39
4 Frank Sinatra 03:52 Amazon
5 Frank Sinatra 02:57 Amazon
6 Frank Sinatra 03:42
7 Frank Sinatra 02:07
8 Frank Sinatra 02:29
9 Frank Sinatra 03:33
10 Frank Sinatra 02:42
11 Frank Sinatra 03:02
12 Frank Sinatra 03:34
13 Frank Sinatra 02:43
14 Frank Sinatra 02:17
15 Frank Sinatra 04:00
16 Frank Sinatra 02:54
17 Frank Sinatra 02:40 Amazon
18 Frank Sinatra 03:47
19 Frank Sinatra 03:14 Amazon
20 Frank Sinatra 03:48
21 Frank Sinatra 01:40
blue highlight denotes track pick