Django Reinhardt

Chronological, Vol. 1

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Although many companies have released these early Reinhardt sides, this JSP collection beats the lot, thanks to some incredible transfers. Taken from original 78s of 1934-1935 recordings, the 26 cuts feature Reinhardt and his newly formed Quintet of the Hot Club of France on their first forays in the studio (the band was named after the Parisian venue that the guitarist worked at during the ‘30s). One hears the group come into their own over a set focused on standards like "Dinah," "Oh Lady Be Good," "St. Louis Blues," and "I'm Confessin'." Joining Reinhardt are QHCF regulars Stephane Grappelly on violin, brother Joseph Reinhardt on rhythm guitar, and Louis Viola on drums. Augmenting this core group on some cuts are clarinetist Alix Combille and vocalist Jerry Mengo. And while all the tracks come from Reinhardt-led groups, the first two sides are listed under the band's initial moniker, Delaunay's Jazz, and a few later tracks are credited to Combille and trumpeter Frank "Big Boy" Goudie. Regardless, this set is marked throughout by Reinhardt and Grappelly's very French take on hot jazz and hand-in-glove guitar-violin repartee. Rounded out by early Django and Grappelly originals like "Ultra Fox" and "Djangology," as well as some entertaining vocal features by Mengo, JSP's first installment of its complete Reinhardt reissue program comes off as a very suitable introduction to the recordings of the French jazz legend.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 02:46 Amazon
2 02:52 Amazon
3 02:35 Amazon
4 02:33 Amazon
5 02:52 Amazon
6 02:30 Amazon
03:36 Amazon
8 02:54 Amazon
9 02:55 Amazon
10 02:39 Amazon
11 02:53 Amazon
12 03:03 Amazon
13 02:53 Amazon
14 03:20 Amazon
15 02:53 Amazon
16 02:51 Amazon
17 03:15 Amazon
18 03:12 Amazon
19 02:42 Amazon
20 03:02 Amazon
21 02:33 Amazon
22 02:37 Amazon
23 02:58 Amazon
24 02:58 Amazon
25 02:23 Amazon
26 02:56 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick