Chim Chim's Badass Revenge


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Chim Chim's Badass Revenge Review

by Greg Prato

Despite the underachievement of their previous record, 1993's Give a Monkey a Brain, the defection of two founding members (guitarist Kendall Jones and keyboardist Chris Dowd), and the discarding from their longtime label Columbia, Fishbone stuck it out. Signing with Arista subsidiary Rowdy Records, the now 5-piece band issued Chim Chim's Badass Revenge in 1996. Unfortunately, the album only furthered Fishbone's downward slide. One bright spot was that the sound wasn't as metallic as its predecessor was -- it brings to mind the band's earlier albums. The songwriting is still not up to snuff, however, evidenced on such predictable and sophomoric songs as "Beergut" and especially "In the Cube" (sample lyric: "Deep in the toilet, Doo deep doo"). Although the band was included on the Warped tour around the time of the album's release, Chim Chim's Badass Revenge suffered the same cruel commercial fate as its predecessor. And repeating the conclusion of their previous tour, another longtime bandmember would leave (drummer Fish), and Fishbone would leave their record company once again.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Fishbone 01:40 SpotifyAmazon
2 Fishbone 04:27 SpotifyAmazon
3 Fishbone 08:32 SpotifyAmazon
4 Fishbone 03:40 SpotifyAmazon
5 Fishbone 01:57 SpotifyAmazon
6 Fishbone 05:07 SpotifyAmazon
7 Fishbone 04:44 SpotifyAmazon
8 Fishbone 06:44 SpotifyAmazon
9 Fishbone 01:08 SpotifyAmazon
10 Fishbone 00:57 SpotifyAmazon
11 Fishbone 04:36 SpotifyAmazon
12 Fishbone 07:13 SpotifyAmazon
13 Fishbone 05:09 SpotifyAmazon
14 Fishbone 03:12 SpotifyAmazon
15 Fishbone 10:29 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick