Various Artists


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Released in 2006 by the Moist Music label, the ESSENTIAL CHILL box set consists of the MANHATTAN LOUNGE, SOUTH BEACH LOUNGE, and two-disc OPIUM GARDEN collections, all of which are available individually as well. Most of the tracks are relaxed bossa nova-inspired songs, mid-tempo electronica tunes, or a combination of the two. Stand-out tracks include Chrome's jazzy "Finger Trip Theme," Ronny Jordan's buoyant "Bahia Magic," and Rex Elias's shimmering "Sea of Light." While the SOUTH BEACH installment focuses more on acoustic-based numbers, the other discs lean more towards the dance floor, making it an ideal compilation to play before or after a night of clubhopping.

blue highlight denotes track pick