Original Soundtrack

Charlie's Angels [2019] [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack]

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Charlie's Angels [2019] [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack] Review

by Neil Z. Yeung

Heralding the arrival of a new generation of crime-fighting women, Ariana Grande and a team of famous friends push girl power to the fore with the stylish soundtrack for the 2019 film reboot of Charlie's Angels. Along with a team of frequent studio hands, Grande executive produced the affair, recruiting an impressive artist roster culled from the worlds of pop, hip-hop, R&B, and electronic dance. The sleek blend works well, especially in the front half of the compilation, while the back end houses an unexpected standout from a country-pop artist. Blaring horns announce the new Angels — Kristen Stewart, Naomi Scott, and Ella Balinska — kicking off the album with "How It's Done," featuring the formidable team of Kash Doll, Kim Petras, ALMA, and Stefflon Don. "Bad to You," a slinky sequel to their hit single "Side to Side," reunites Grande with Nicki Minaj, adding Normani for good measure. Meanwhile, the powerhouse union of Grande, Miley Cyrus, and Lana Del Rey, "Don't Call Me Angel," fares better in the context of the album than as a radio single, with its booming beat and ringing jingle boosting the three decade-defining vocalists to a deserving position of power. Peeling back the layers of pop goodness, Charlie's Angels is so of-the-moment and culturally aware that it evokes artists who don't even appear on the record like Dua Lipa (on the banging disco house "Eyes Off You" with M-22, Arlissa, and Kiana Lede) and Sia (on the album highlight "Blackout" by Danielle Bradbery of The Voice). Bridging generations of powerful females, the set includes an updated version of Donna Summer's "Bad Girls" and pairs Chaka Khan with Grande on the funky throwback "Nobody." There's something here to scratch any contemporary 2010s pop itch, presenting Grande as a savvy and capable cultural curator who can create her own critically acclaimed efforts and also gather the best of her peers. Packed with fun playlist additions and a handful of fresh non-album Grande cuts, Charlie's Angels 2019 is an empowering and triumphant collection of anthems to inspire excellence for clubgoers and budding crime-fighters alike.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Alma / Kash Doll / Stefflon Don / Kim Petras 03:02 Amazon
2 Ariana Grande / Nicki Minaj / Normani 02:51 Amazon
3 Miley Cyrus / Ariana Grande / Lana Del Rey 03:10 Amazon
4 Arlissa / Kiana Lede / M-22 / Arlissa Ruppert 03:22 Amazon
5 Donna Summer 05:20 Amazon
6 Ariana Grande / Chaka Khan 03:00 Amazon
7 Anitta 02:04 Amazon
8 Ariana Grande 02:54 Amazon
9 Danielle Bradbery 03:21 Amazon
10 Ariana Grande / Victoria Monét 02:41 Amazon
11 Jack Elliott / Allyn Ferguson 02:47 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick