Various Artists

Chakra: Seven Centers

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Chakra: The Seven Centers heavily features Bill Laswell and a shifting cast of frequent and infrequent collaborators, some of whom include Nicky Skopelitis, Pharoah Sanders, Graham Haynes, Trilok Gurtu, Jeff Bova, Jah Wobble, and DJ Cheb I Sabbah; there's also a solo track from A.R. Rahman. Overall, Chakra is another eclectic and challenging Laswell project -- this one with a more reflective, meditative bent than much of his work. Each of the seven tracks represents one of the body's energy centers and progresses as a sort of story about the religious background of the subject matter, with voice-overs by Willem Dafoe, Sarita Choudry, and Dechen Thurman, among others.

blue highlight denotes track pick