Various Artists

Celebrate Broadway, Vol. 5: Hello Young Lovers

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

On its fifth Celebrate Broadway compilation, RCA explores the variety of love, with the emphasis on variety. Indeed, only somewhat complicated love songs have been chosen here, starting with the title song, from The King and I, which is sung by an older woman who is not involved in romance, and including "The Human Heart," from Once on This Island, which is about universal love; "My Cup Runneth Over," from I Do! I Do!, and "I Still Get Jealous," from High Button Shoes, by way of Jerome Robbins' Broadway, which concern mature relationships; and "Who Can I Turn To?" from The Roar of the Greasepaint, The Smell of the Crowd, and "In Buddy's Eyes," from Follies, which have a real sense of emotional dependency that comes across as desperate. But then, Broadway has treated love in many ways, from Show Boat's fanciful 1927 flirtation, "Make Believe," to Hair's knowing 1968 revelation that it's "Easy to Be Hard." So, don't expect to put this album on in preparation for a romantic evening with your companion -- it's liable to convince the two of you that you should give it up instead. Although the Celebrate Broadway series has made extensive use of performances other than original cast recordings, this compilation goes a little farther, with a full two-thirds of the selections drawn from off-Broadway, revivals, and concert versions.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time
The King and I
1 3:49
Show Boat
2 4:49
Once on This Island
3 3:51
I Do! I Do!
4 2:10
Closer than Ever
5 6:18
The Roar of the Greasepaint
6 3:49
Grand Hotel
7 3:48
Jerome Robbins' Broadway
8 4:32
Merrily We Roll Along
9 2:20
10 2:53
11 2:59
12 4:17
13 2:35
And the World Goes 'Round
14 4:42
15 3:18
blue highlight denotes track pick