John McCabe

Carl Nielsen: Piano Music

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

First released in 1975 on Decca's Ace of Diamonds label, John McCabe's performances of Carl Nielsen's piano music were reissued in 2015 to celebrate the 150th anniversary of the composer's birth, though this Somm release also marked the passing of the pianist earlier in the year. The keyboard music easily fits on two CDs, and because it is such a small part of Nielsen's output, which is dominated by the three concertos and the six symphonies, as well as the opera Maskarade, it's easy to see how they have been a niche interest, which they certainly were when McCabe made this recording. Since then, several other pianists have added them to their repertoire, so they are much better known now, but McCabe's recordings have lost none of their freshness and appeal. Highpoints of this double CD are the Symphonic Suite, a robust work that is the closest Nielsen came to composing a piano sonata, and the Humoreske-Bagatelles, which are among his most engaging and delightful pieces in any genre.

Track Listing - Disc 1

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 01:45 Amazon
Piano Music for Young and Old FS 148 (Opus 53)
2 05:32 Amazon
3 05:08 Amazon
Symphonic Suite FS 19 (Opus 8)
4 02:00 Amazon
5 03:31 Amazon
6 07:15 Amazon
7 04:11 Amazon
Five Pieces FS 10 (Opus 3)
8 02:36 Amazon
9 01:33 Amazon
10 01:00 Amazon
11 00:54 Amazon
12 01:36 Amazon
Three Piano Pieces FS (OPus 59)
13 03:25 Amazon
14 02:34 Amazon
15 05:54 Amazon
Piano Music for Young and Old FS 148 (Opus 53)
16 06:15 Amazon
17 06:25 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick