Capitol Collectors Series

Louis Prima

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Capitol Collectors Series Review

by Cub Koda

What Louis Prima accomplished musically in the company of Sam Butera and the Witnesses and vocalist Keely Smith is in hard evidence on this excellent 26-track compilation. All the classics are aboard with excellent liner notes from Scott Shea and crisp transfers of the original masters ("Angelina-Zooma Zooma," "That Old Black Magic," "I've Got You Under My Skin," "Buona Sera" -- which includes a great snippet of studio chatter kicking it off -- "Oh Marie," and the obligatory "Just a Gigolo-I Ain't Got Nobody"). Although this duplicates several tracks with Rhino's Zooma! Zooma! compilation, with the addition of several singles and unissued tracks, this stands as the best single-disc collection available of Prima's tenure with Capitol Records. The perfect place to start your Louis Prima collection.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Louis Prima 04:42 SpotifyAmazon
2 Louis Prima 02:26 SpotifyAmazon
3 Louis Prima 03:06 SpotifyAmazon
4 Louis Prima 03:28 SpotifyAmazon
5 Louis Prima 04:12 SpotifyAmazon
6 Louis Prima feat: Keely Smith 02:16 SpotifyAmazon
7 Louis Prima 02:15 SpotifyAmazon
8 Louis Prima 02:09 SpotifyAmazon
9 Louis Prima 02:30 SpotifyAmazon
10 Louis Prima feat: Sam Butera 03:14 SpotifyAmazon
11 Louis Prima 03:57 SpotifyAmazon
12 Louis Prima feat: Keely Smith 02:05 SpotifyAmazon
13 Louis Prima 02:26 SpotifyAmazon
14 Louis Prima 02:20 SpotifyAmazon
15 Louis Prima 04:16 SpotifyAmazon
16 Louis Prima 02:12 SpotifyAmazon
17 Louis Prima feat: Keely Smith 02:56 SpotifyAmazon
18 Louis Prima 04:08 SpotifyAmazon
19 Louis Prima feat: Keely Smith 02:55 SpotifyAmazon
20 Louis Prima 02:34 SpotifyAmazon
21 Louis Prima feat: Keely Smith 02:40 SpotifyAmazon
22 Louis Prima 03:26 SpotifyAmazon
23 Louis Prima feat: Keely Smith 02:37 SpotifyAmazon
24 Louis Prima 02:26 SpotifyAmazon
25 Louis Prima 02:00 SpotifyAmazon
26 Louis Prima 02:55 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick