Christine Kittrell

Call Her Name: The Complete Recordings 1951-1965

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Christine Kittrell, if she is known at all in the 21st century by anyone but die-hard blues and rhythm & blues collectors, was a versatile singer from Nashville who enjoyed a long career -- six decades -- though she cut very few sides for being in the business that long. Though she traveled the world and recorded with everyone from gospel groups to singing jazz vocals with Count Basie, she is primarily known as a blues and R&B singer whose greatest "fame" was in the '50s through the middle of the '60s. This single-disc Bear Family offering collects a whopping 31 tracks recorded between 1951 and 1965, and includes her very first single -- the jazzy “Don’t Do It,” backed with the blues shouter “Old Man You’re Slipping," recorded for the Tennessee imprint. In addition to her best-known jukebox and regional hits, this set also collects tracks she recorded for Republic, Champion, Vee-Jay, Hit/Spar, and Federal. For many of these tracks, this is their first reissue from master tapes. In addition, there are three unissued alternate versions of singles she recorded for Republic -- their masters appeared on the box set A Shot in the Dark. Her original version of “Sittin’ Here Drinkin’” is here, as well its 1954 sequel, “Sittin Here Drinkin’ Again”-- famous for its appearance on piano and backing vocals by Little Richard. Kittrell cut “I’m a Woman” for Vee-Jay six months prior to the better-known Peggy Lee version in 1962. Also notable is the amazing Latin-style jazz-blues in the tracks “You Ain’t Nothin’ But Trouble” and “I Ain’t Nothin’ But a Fool,” which was very different for jump blues at the time. As with all Bear Family offerings, this collection has exhaustive historical liner notes by Martin Hawkins, photographs, and complete discographical information

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 2:26
2 3:14
3 3:30
4 2:55
5 3:31
6 2:00
7 3:00
8 2:12
9 3:11
10 3:09
11 3:24
12 2:33
15 3:20
16 4:31
17 2:47
18 3:01
19 3:33
20 2:29
21 2:37
22 2:16
23 2:22
25 2:52
26 2:35
27 1:50
29 2:31
30 2:45
31 2:46
blue highlight denotes track pick