Original TV Soundtrack

Californication, Season 4: Music from the Showtime Series

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The Californication music supervisors always find new and surprising ways to frame the hedonistic David Duchovny Showtime comedy series, and season four does little to deviate from that formula. Comprised of 13 tracks, Californication Season 4 revels in cocky, open highway, outlaw Americana, offering up selections from Shooter Jennings & Hierophant (“F**k You (I’m Famous)”), Eagles of Death Metal (“Stuck in the Metal”) and Cracker (“Turn On, Tune In, Drop Out with Me”), as well as a host of left-field covers, including Monster Magnet taking on Love and Rockets' “Mirror People,” Tommy Lee breaking down “Home Sweet Home” into a parlor lament, and Queens of Dogtown turning in fairly lackluster renditions of Skid Row's “I’ll Remember You” and Alice in Chains' “Would”.

blue highlight denotes track pick