Buckwheat Zydeco / Buckwheat Zydeco Ils Sont Partis Band

Buckwheat's Zydeco Party

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

A smart, and with seventeen tracks, generous, collection culled from Buckwheat's two Rounder albums. ZYDECO PARTY includes a previously unreleased and absolutely blistering version of "Hot Tamale Baby" that's actually even more exciting than the slick remake done for Island the same year (1987).

As usual, Zydeco and his crack band avoid purism. There's lots of authentic zydeco ("Madame Pitre," "Lache Pas La Patate") to be sure, but there are also cover versions of two '50s rock standards (Little Richard's "Tutti Frutti" and Fats Domino's "Walking to New Orleans," both of which sound fresh as paint here), a pulsating big band blues ("Someone Else is Steppin' In"), and even a reggae version of Lee Dorsey's "Ya Ya." Great stuff, brilliantly played.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 4:41 Spotify
2 3:33 SpotifyAmazon
3 3:57 SpotifyAmazon
4 2:51 Spotify
5 6:02 Spotify
6 4:33 SpotifyAmazon
7 3:53 Spotify
5:03 SpotifyAmazon
9 3:04 SpotifyAmazon
10 2:32 SpotifyAmazon
11 3:19 SpotifyAmazon
12 2:28 SpotifyAmazon
4:02 SpotifyAmazon
14 5:05 SpotifyAmazon
15 3:06 Spotify
16 4:42 SpotifyAmazon
17 4:48 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick