Wellwater Conspiracy

Brotherhood of Electric: Operational Directives

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

On their second album, 1999's Brotherhood of Electric: Operational Directives, lo-fi masters Wellwater Conspiracy offer another intriguing collection of 60's-tinged ditties. Again, guitarist/bassist John McBain and drummer Matt Cameron are present, but singer Ben Shepherd is not, so Cameron handles the vocal chores this time around (both have very similar singing styles anyway). And despite the defection of Shepherd, the songs are still strong and memorable - all the while rocking and spaced out. Like it's predecessor, 97's Declaration of Conformity, it takes a few listens to fully grasp and comprehend, but once it does, you're hooked. Highlights include the instrumental "Hal McBlaine," as well as "Compellor," "Teen Lamchop," "Born With A Tail," "Red Light Green Light," and the heavy Black Sabbath-riff monger "Van Vanishing." As heard on Brotherhood of Electric, Wellwater Conspiracy continue to specialize in authentic sounds of yesteryear (The Who, The Creation, Pink Floyd, etc.). Highly recommended.

blue highlight denotes track pick