The Bats

Boogey Man

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

An EP that preceded the release of the Bats' fourth album, Fear of God, 1991's Boogey Man is an excellent example of the New Zealand quintet's sweet-and-sour jangle pop. The title track, which appeared on the album, is a sweetly catchy tune with the sort of male-female harmonies and gently fuzzy guitars that made the group's name. "Jetsam," on the other hand, is a much darker and murkier tune sung from the point of view of a man whose girlfriend's murdered body is about to be found by the police, and as such, it's ample evidence of leader Robert Scott's less huggable side, though the extended fadeout is one of the more appealing lengthy instrumental passages in the band's career. (Note: This is a different version of "Jetsam" than the one on Fear of God.) "Mama Come Watch" splits the difference; an angular song with a hypnotic one-chord rhythm guitar part, it strongly recalls the skittering art-pop of Scott's earlier band, the Clean. It and the alternate "Jetsam" are non-LP tracks worth searching for by obsessive Flying Nun collectors.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time
1 3:18
2 4:42
3 3:36
blue highlight denotes track pick