Rebop Union

Blue Notes

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

ReBop Union is a European quintet consisting of three Italians (guitarist Francesco Cigna, alto saxophonist Orazio Maugeri, and drummer Tony Cigna), a Dane (trumpeter/flugelhornist Thomas Fryland), and a Swede (bassist Daniel Franck). Their debut recording focuses mostly on their post-bop originals, most of which were written by Francesco Cigna. His opener, "Casual Meeting," is a pretty straightforward workout of the familiar changes to "I Got Rhythm," though the bluesy "Blue Notes" gives a better idea of the band's capabilities, showcasing Maugeri's wry sax and Francesco's slinky guitar. Maugeri's upbeat "Saxando" is a snappy feature for Fryland's blistering trumpet, while he switches to flugelhorn for the saxophonist's melancholy ballad "New Time." The sole standard is an intricate arrangement of "What Is This Thing Called Love." Recommended.

blue highlight denotes track pick