Various Artists

Blowing the Fuse: 29 R&B Classics That Rocked the Jukebox in 1952

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Blowing the Fuse is a killer series of compilation CDs issued by Germany's premier archivist label, Bear Family. Subtitled "R&B Classics That Rocked the Jukebox," each volume is compiled by year. 1952 was a boom year for jukeboxes across the United States. This volume contains 29 affirmed classics of the early postwar years. The more well-known tunes of the era are given great balance by some nearly forgotten gems that are juxtaposed in the brilliant sequencing -- by producer Dave "Daddy Cool" Booth. Big Joe Turner and Van "Piano Man" Walls open the set with "The Chill Is On," followed by the Swallows doing "It Ain't the Meat." B.B. King's classic "3 O'Clock Blues," precedes one of those rather obscure, but deeply satisfying cuts: Johnny Greer's "Got You on My Mind." Other fine tracks from the margins include Varetta Dillard's "Easy, Easy Baby," the Four Blazes "Mary Jo," Willie Mabon & His Combo's "I Don't Know," and the Griffin Brothers Orchestra whose "Weepin' and Cryin'" is one of the finest cuts on the entire collection. Other notables here range from Ruth Brown and Little Walter to Jimmy Forrest and Dinah Washington and Johnny Ace. The package is beautiful with Colin Escott's liner notes detailing every cut, accompanied by photographs and a lovely digipack. Sound quality is as good as it can be for archival material, making this a fine introduction to postwar R&B for the novice and a killer chronological listen for the connoisseur.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 2:46 Spotify
2 2:34 Spotify
3 3:01 Spotify
4 2:40 Spotify
5 3:05 Spotify
3:21 Spotify
7 2:46 Spotify
8 2:28 Spotify
9 3:04 Spotify
10 2:15 Spotify
2:23 Spotify
12 2:46 Spotify
13 2:11 Spotify
14 2:27 Spotify
15 2:13 Spotify
16 2:59 Spotify
17 2:42 Spotify
18 2:23 Spotify
19 3:11 Spotify
20 2:31 Spotify
21 3:12 Spotify
2:35 Spotify
23 3:01 Spotify
2:26 Spotify
2:38 Spotify
26 2:45 Spotify
27 2:29 Spotify
28 3:08 Spotify
29 2:44 Spotify
blue highlight denotes track pick