Blowin' Away

Dizzy Reece

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Blowin' Away Review

by Scott Yanow

Trumpeters Dizzy Reece and Ted Curson team up with a top-notch trio (pianist Claude Williamson, bassist Sam Jones and drummer Roy Haynes) on three of the six numbers on this bebop-oriented LP, originally recorded for Interplay and then soon reissued by Discovery. In addition to those pieces ("Walkin'" and a basic original apiece by each trumpeter), Reece is showcased on "Stella By Starlight," Curson gets the spotlight on "All the Things You Are," and the rhythm section romps on "Moose the Mooche." It is a pity that Reece and Curson do not get to tangle on all of the numbers, but they do shoot off some fireworks (most notably on "Walkin'"); the playing by all of the veterans is up to par.

blue highlight denotes track pick