Michael Friedman

Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson [Original Cast Recording]

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The original cast recording for the hit “emo-rock” musical Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson features the music and lyrics of Michael Friedman. Punk rock and politics have always been a pair of ugly siblings, but basing a musical around the birth of the Democratic Party and its controversial seventh president (“He puts the man in manifest destiny”) takes some guts, and Friedman, director Alex Timbers, and the enthusiastic cast are more than up for the challenge. Fans of John Cameron Mitchell's Hedwig and the Angry Inch, Stew’s Passing Strange, and even the Broadway stage adaptation of Green Day's American Idiot will find much to love here.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time
feat: The Company
2 2:29
3 2:16
4 1:16
5 2:25
6 2:11
7 2:26
8 1:37
9 2:12
10 1:52
11 2:15
12 2:44
feat: The Company
blue highlight denotes track pick