Metropole Orkest / Within Temptation

Black Symphony

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Released in 2008, Black Symphony is the first live album from Dutch symphonic metal five-piece Within Temptation. Recorded at the Ahoy Arena in Rotterdam, its 22 performances are given an epic theatrical edge thanks to the backing of the 60-piece Metropole Orchestra and the 20-piece Pa'dam Choir. With the exception of "Final Destination," their previous LP, The Heart of Everything, is performed in its entirety alongside several singles from their Mother Earth and The Silent Force albums, and there are collaborations with George Oosthoek, Keith Caputo, and Anneke Van Giersbergen.