BET Awards: '04 Nominees

Various Artists

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

BET Awards: '04 Nominees Review

by Andy Kellman

Unlike most other compilations based around award show nominations, BET Awards: '04 Nominees is actually quite handy for those who lacked the means or the desire to buy dozens of rap and R&B full-lengths throughout late 2003 and the first half of 2004. Held on June 29, the BET Awards for 2004 were also more up-to-date than, say, the Grammys -- and many of the nominees included here were still on the charts when the ceremony took place. OutKast's "The Way You Move," Beyoncé's "Crazy in Love," Lil Jon & the East Side Boyz' "Get Low," Kanye West's "Through the Wire," and R. Kelly's "Ignition [Remix]" are among the inclusions. Many of the tracks appear in their radio versions, meaning that all of the cussing has been extracted. As a nice touch, the compilation's producers included "Fight the Power," from Lifetime Achievement Award recipients the Isley Brothers, at the end of the disc. It goes without saying, but it spanks most everything that precedes it.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Sleepy Brown / OutKast 03:24 SpotifyAmazon
2 Beyoncé / Jay-Z 03:55 SpotifyAmazon
3 Mary J. Blige / Method Man 04:40 SpotifyAmazon
4 Missy Elliott 03:41 SpotifyAmazon
5 Ludacris / Shawnna 03:33 SpotifyAmazon
6 Lil Jon & the East Side Boyz 04:29 SpotifyAmazon
G-Unit 03:51 SpotifyAmazon
8 Kanye West 04:30 SpotifyAmazon
9 Janet Jackson 03:55 SpotifyAmazon
10 Sean Paul 03:53 SpotifyAmazon
11 R. Kelly 03:06 SpotifyAmazon
12 Jagged Edge 03:46 SpotifyAmazon
13 Luther Vandross 04:22 SpotifyAmazon
14 Musiq Soulchild 04:53 SpotifyAmazon
15 Anthony Hamilton 03:30 SpotifyAmazon
16 The Isley Brothers 05:17 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick