Behold... The Arctopus

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This EP contains one song apiece by two of America's most devastating avant-prog-metal outfits. Orthrelm is a duo of drums and guitar: harmless enough on paper, but when the two instrumentalists in question are guitarist Mick Barr (formerly of Crom-Tech) and drummer Josh Blair--guys who play with an exacting, mind-meld precision unheard outside of those who carry "virtuoso" status--then sparks will fly. 64th-note string destruction and bombastic drums weave around one another on the frenetic offering "Pithot 1." Brooklyn's Behold... The Arctopus mine a more traditional progressive rock model, but are no less engaging. Their claim to fame has been guitarist Colin Marston's unique 12-string touch guitar, a trick instrument that enables the player to exact precise finger-tapping solos and glides between notes with ease. Their offering, "Paincave," is best likened to King Crimson on amphetamines: wiry, wound up, but painfully accurate and swarming progressive metal.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 5:17
2 3:35
blue highlight denotes track pick