Marjanne Kweksilber / Gijs Beths / Vera Beths / Anner Bylsma / Stanley Hoogland

Beethoven: Songs

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Except for one thing, this is an utterly beguiling disc. The repertoire is lesser Beethoven, but no less lovely for that. The Allegretto for piano trio is charming. The Variations for piano on "Rule Brittania" are bracing. The Ländler for two violins and cello are infectious. The two sets of Scottish songs are delightful, and the set of Irish songs is quite moving. The players are wonderful. Violinists Vera and Gijs Beths bow deep into their catgut strings. Fortepianist Stanley Hoogland is fine and fleet on his warm-toned instrument, and cellist Anner Bijlsma is simply the best period-instrument cellist in the world. But the singer is all but unbearable. Soprano Marjanne Kweksilber has a harsh upper register, a grating lower register, a nearly painful vibrato, and an inability to pronounce the text so that it is comprehensible. Her singing makes the songs on this disc all but unlistenable. This is an almost utterly beguiling disc, but Kweksilber's singing sinks it.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time
1 04:20
2 01:41
3 03:30
4 02:02
5 03:26
6 05:07
7 03:29
8 02:56
9 03:37
10 02:41
11 04:49
12 04:50
13 02:45
14 02:59
15 01:34
blue highlight denotes track pick