Jimmy Van M

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Bedrock Review

by Kenyon Hopkin

Following John Digweed's first mix in the series for Bedrock, Twilo resident Jimmy Van M puts his own spin on several of the label's artists with this two-disc set of diffusive progressive house. Disc one, which features such notables as Floppy Sounds and Yum Yum, takes on a decidedly darker edge, cascading with airy synths and subtle, tribal percussion. The mood remains quite consistent, reaching a climax with Jimmy Van M's spooky "Love Like Sleep." Gears shift for the fleeting (and more interesting) beats of disc two, providing a deeper shade of house with tracks such as the liberating "Music Don't Stop."

blue highlight denotes track pick