David Thomas

Bay City

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Pere Ubu frontman David Thomas has built a parallel solo career for himself by heading off periodically with varying collections of sidemen -- who have gone on record under such various names as the Wooden Birds, the Pedestrians, and the Two Pale Boys -- and creating music that is, if anything, more abstruse and difficult than even that of his regular band. This project came about as the result of a one-off improvisational concert he performed in Copenhagen with guitarist Jorge Teller; the concert went so well that the two decided to make an album together, so Teller and Thomas got together with percussionist P.O. Jorgens and clarinetist/bassist Per Buhl Acs to record Bay City under the name David Thomas and Foreigners. The result isn't exactly atypical for Thomas -- the focus is, as always, on the lyrics, which he delivers in a speaking voice as often as not. That leads to a certain melodic dryness, but the lyrics are worth focusing on. The music itself is consistently interesting; it varies from clanky ("Salt") to abrasive ("Nobody Lives on the Moon"), relaxing occasionally into something approximating gentle rock & roll. Consider this one a must-own to Thomas fans, but even those with a more casual interest should definitely give it a listen.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 4:23 SpotifyAmazon
2 3:35 SpotifyAmazon
3 4:34 SpotifyAmazon
4 5:57 SpotifyAmazon
5 2:06 SpotifyAmazon
6 3:54 SpotifyAmazon
7 2:50 SpotifyAmazon
8 5:18 SpotifyAmazon
9 3:56 SpotifyAmazon
10 4:55 SpotifyAmazon
11 5:46 SpotifyAmazon
12 2:33 SpotifyAmazon
13 3:35 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick