Dan Gibson

Bach: Forever by the Sea

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Environmental documentarian Dan Gibson made a career of capturing images of the natural world in photographs, on film, and most notably, with sound recordings. To this end he is also known for developing special equipment designed to accurately display the nuanced beauty of the wild. Part of the award-winning SOLITUDES series, BACH: FOREVER BY THE SEA combines Gibson’s recordings of crashing waves with musician Howard Baer’s gentle flute, oboe, lute, and harpsichord interpretations of ten different pieces by legendary composer J.S. Bach.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
Orchestral Suite No. 3 in D major, BWV 1068
1 06:55 Amazon
Cantata No. 140, "Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme," BWV 140 (BC A166)
2 05:06 Amazon
Orchestral Suite No. 1 in C major, BWV 1066
3 05:05 Amazon
Concerto for 2 violins, strings & continuo in D minor ("Double"), BWV 1043
4 06:53 Amazon
Cantata No. 208, "Was mir behagt," (Hunt Cantata), BWV 208 (BC G1, G3)
5 04:56 Amazon
Concerto for harpsichord, strings & continuo No. 5 in F minor, BWV 1056
6 04:49 Amazon
Concerto for oboe & violin (or 2 violins), strings & continuo (reconstruction), BWV 1060R
7 05:36 Amazon
Partita for solo violin No. 2 in D minor, BWV 1004
8 05:09 Amazon
Notebooks for Anna Magdalena Bach, manuscript sources (2) of sacred songs and keyboard pieces (30)
9 06:18 Amazon
Cantata No. 147, "Herz und Mund und Tat und Leben," BWV 147 (BC A174)
10 06:08 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick