Bach Collegium Japan / Masaaki Suzuki

Bach for Japan

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Since the 1990s, Masaaki Suzuki has been one of the world's leading figures in period performances of the works of J.S. Bach, and his historically informed recordings of the cantatas with the Bach Collegium Japan have received universal praise. This compilation of arias, organ chorales, and instrumental sinfonias is an offering of hope and consolation to the people of Japan, who were devastated by the earthquake, tsunami, and nuclear disaster at Fukushima in March 2011. The sensitively chosen program is meditative and inspirational, and the mix of instrumental and vocal music is quite soothing and peaceful, to fit the intended mood of reflection. The most familiar selections are the Sinfonia from BWV 156, known in other arrangements as the Arioso, and the popular "Air on the G string" from the Orchestral Suite No. 3. The sound of the compilation is transparent, finely detailed, and well-balanced, so the album's volume is evenly adjusted through the 15 tracks, which were recorded between 1995 and 2010. Royalties from this album go to TOHOKU HELP, the Sendai Christian Alliance Disaster Relief Network, with a matching donation from BIS Records.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
Ich steh mit einem Fuß im Grabe, BWV 156
1 2:48
2 6:17
Gottes Zeit ist die allerbeste Zeit, BWV 106
3 3:13
Die Seele ruht in Jesu Händen, BWV 127
4 8:01
5 2:34 Amazon
In deine Hände befehl ich meinen Geist, BWV 106
6 6:02
Orchestral Suite No. 3 in D major, BWV 1068
Bete aber auch dabei, BWV 115
8 7:17
9 2:31
Vergnügte Ruh, beliebte Seelenlust, BWV 170
10 6:42
Süßer Trost, mein Jesus kömmt, BWV 151
11 8:34
12 2:31
Wie zittern und wanken, BWV 105
13 6:11
Es ist vollbracht, BWV 159
14 5:58
15 8:47
blue highlight denotes track pick