Angela Hewitt

Bach: Fantasia and Fugue in A minor; Aria Variata; Sonata in D major; Suite in F minor

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

At the best of times under the best of circumstances, Glenn Gould was compelling, but the rest of the time, he was just nuts. Nope, when it comes to the question of who the greatest Canadian Bach pianist is, the answer is Angela Hewitt, just like when it comes to the question of who the great living Bach pianist is, the answer is Angela Hewitt. In her series of recordings of the keyboard works of Bach for Hyperion, Hewitt's brilliant virtuosity, lively intelligence, and deep musicianship have defined what it means to play Bach on the piano at the turn of the second millennium. Even in this the last volume of the series containing some of his least-known works, Hewitt is not playing "the last and the least" but, as she remarks in his notes, the best of the rest. While not the best known of Bach's works, they are, at least in Hewitt's hands, supreme works of musical craft and sublime works of spiritual beauty. From the pair of Fantasias and Fugues in A minor that open and close the program through the dolorous Variations alla Maniera Italiana to the exquisite pair of chorale preludes, Hewitt has assembled her program with taste and sensitivity. Hewitt's performances here are as fine as those of the rest of her series, as serious, as witty, as virtuosic, as lucid, and as lovely as the rest of her Bach recordings. And Hyperion's sound captures Hewitt's performances in sound as clear and warm as the rest of their wonderful recordings.

A magnificent conclusion to a monumental cycle, Hewitt's final Bach disc will appeal to anyone who loves life and Bach.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
Fantasia and Fugue, for keyboard in A minor, BWV 904 (BC L136)
1 03:37 Amazon
2 04:22 Amazon
Aria variata, for keyboard in A minor ("In the Italian Style"), BWV 989 (BC L179)
3 02:15 Amazon
4 01:19 Amazon
5 01:19 Amazon
6 01:24 Amazon
7 01:05 Amazon
8 01:30 Amazon
9 01:56 Amazon
10 00:55 Amazon
11 00:48 Amazon
12 00:59 Amazon
13 02:42 Amazon
Sonata for keyboard in D major, BWV 963 (BC L182)
14 02:35 Amazon
15 01:08 Amazon
16 02:13 Amazon
17 01:01 Amazon
18 01:52 Amazon
Suite for keyboard in A major, BWV 832 (BC L174)
19 02:03 Amazon
20 02:31 Amazon
21 01:45 Amazon
22 01:04 Amazon
23 01:20 Amazon
Suite for keyboard in F minor (fragment), BWV 823 (BC L167)
24 02:08 Amazon
25 04:15 Amazon
26 02:02 Amazon
27 05:08 Amazon
28 01:22 Amazon
29 02:48 Amazon
30 02:14 Amazon
Fantasia and Fugue, for keyboard in A minor, BWV 944 (BC L135)
31 00:56 Amazon
32 04:54 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick