Rainer Maria


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Rainer Maria's Atlantic EP gathers three pretty, earnest songs that continue the quieter direction of Look Now, Look Again: the ballads "Atlantic" and "There Will Be No Night," and the relatively upbeat "Soul Singer." The first two songs in particular showcase the group's talent for writing subtly hypnotic guitar figures and feature some of Kyle Fischer and Caithlin De Marrais' best singing and harmonies. "Soul Singer" sounds more like standard-issue Rainer Maria, with driving guitars, catchy songwriting, and, once again, those harmonies. Atlantic documents another interesting musical shift in one of emo/indie rock's most engaging bands.

blue highlight denotes track pick