World's Greatest Jazz Band

At Massey Hall

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

One of the last recordings by the best version of the World's Greatest Jazz Band, this fun live concert mostly finds the ensemble sticking to Dixieland, displaying enthusiasm and hard-driving swing on such numbers as "Original Dixieland One Step," "I Want to Be Happy," "Fidgety Feet," and "South." Pianist Ralph Sutton has "California Here I Come" as his feature; cornetist Bobby Hackett appears throughout as a "guest artist" since former second trumpeter Billy Butterfield had left the group shortly beforehand; and the musicians (who also include trumpeter Yank Lawson, trombonists Eddie Hubble and Vic Dickenson, Bob Wilber on clarinet and soprano, tenor saxophonist Bud Freeman, bassist Bob Haggart, and drummer Gus Johnson) play up to par. An excellent and occasionally exciting performance.