As One

Kool & the Gang

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

As One Review

by Craig Lytle

During their eight-year reign as one of the premiere R&B/funk bands, Kool & the Gang, featuring James "J.T." Taylor on lead, had one Top Ten hit after another and quite a few number one hits. This album did not spawn any number one singles, but it did house two festive Top Ten numbers in "Big Fun" and "Let's Go Dancin' (Ooh La, La, La)." The former has a rapid, groovin' bassline accentuated by some jittering horns. The latter is Caribbean-flavored single ideal for a popular party/cook-out dance called the electric slide. Respectively, they peaked at six and seven on the Billboard R&B charts. Though it appears that the lyric to the title song depicts a relationship between a man and woman, it is actually speaking of the band as an unit. The nine-piece outfit also pays homage to the great bandleader Cab Calloway with the rhythmic number "Hi De Hi, Hi De Ho." Aside from the two released singles, this album does not have that constant spark like some of their more accomplished efforts.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Kool & the Gang 05:50 Amazon
2 Kool & the Gang 05:02 Amazon
3 Kool & the Gang 04:41 Amazon
4 Kool & the Gang 03:59 Amazon
5 Kool & the Gang 06:40 Amazon
6 Kool & the Gang 04:54 Amazon
7 Kool & the Gang 04:37 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick