José Carreras

Around the World

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Classical vocalist José Carreras' 2001 release Around the World warmly embraces 18 tracks from as many cultures. The countries visited by Carreras' seasoned tenor include Argentina, Mexico, Brazil, Japan, Korea, China, and many throughout Europe, and each is accompanied by soaring string sections and contemporary production. While some of the more country-specific orchestrations work better than others (the light flamenco guitar in the Brazilian "Manahã de Carnaval" as opposed to the overdone Asian themes in "Sorrow of the Red Beans"), Carreras' voice adapts to all of the dialects effectively and naturally. While the interpretations of these different cultural elements is an interesting theme, the album almost ends up seeming scattered, with the vocals being the only thread that carries throughout. This, however, should in no way dissuade fans of Carreras' earlier works, as well as those who have enjoyed other classical crossover artists (Andrea Bocelli, Charlotte Church), who will certainly find it enjoyable.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 03:35
2 04:26
When you tell me that you love me
3 04:14
4 04:32
5 04:10
6 03:40
7 04:22
8 02:55
9 03:14
Midnight in Moscow for chorus
10 04:17
11 04:23
12 06:01
13 02:54
Ta Tréna pou figan (The Trains Which Left), for voice & piano
14 04:04
15 03:40
16 02:59
17 04:11
18 03:53
blue highlight denotes track pick