Maria Luisa Baldassari

Andrea Antico: Frottole Intabulate - Libro Primo, 1517

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

One of the earliest music printers in the Renaissance era, Andrea Antico (ca. 1470-1540) held exclusive rights to publish in the Papal States, and his editions of sacred and secular music set him in competition with his Venetian counterpart, the famous publisher Ottaviano Petrucci. This 2017 release on Tactus presents 29 pieces that were printed in keyboard tablature by Antico in 1517 as the first book of Frottole Intabulate per sonare organi. The 15th century frottola was a generic form that developed into the madrigal, and was typically sung by three to four voices, though these performances by Maria Luisa Baldassari on spinet, clavichord, harpsichord, and organ show the adaptability of the form and the flexibility of Renaissance practices. Composers of frottolas, including Bartolomeo Tromboncino, who is well represented in this program, tended to avoid complex counterpoint and favored single-line melodies with simple chordal accompaniment, anticipating the Baroque aria. Baldassari has edited this collection and her program offers a variety of lively dances, such as the opening Che farala che dirala, and Dolce ire dolce sdegni, yet some of the pieces show melancholy and poignant aspects, as in Per dolor mi bagno el viso, Gentil donna se in voi, and Amor quando fioriva mia speme. The choice of instrument also determines the character of the music, so Baldassari's performances on a period organ may seem more cerebral and austere than they do on the intimate harpsichord. However, the changing moods and instrumentation keep the music fresh and intriguing, and Baldassari brings spirit and clarity to her performances.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 1:54
2 3:07
3 1:06
4 4:13
5 2:06
6 1:47
7 1:26
8 1:55
9 1:01
10 1:45
11 2:01
12 2:06
13 3:03
14 1:33
15 2:09
16 2:19
17 1:52
18 2:38
19 2:22
20 1:50
21 1:06
22 1:22
23 1:40
24 1:37
25 1:09
26 2:50
27 1:22
28 1:24
29 2:48
blue highlight denotes track pick