Teddy Wilson

And Then They Wrote/Mr. Wilson and Mr. Gershwin

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The two trio dates from 1959 featured on this compilation by Teddy Wilson were originally recorded for Columbia. Mr. Wilson and Mr. Gershwin, according to producer Irving Townsend's liner notes, was taped in front of the staff of the label's New York office, none of whom could withhold their enthusiastic applause at the end of each number, so it was included on the record. Strangely enough, as on other Columbia reissues from that era, the applause is missing on the CD reissue, so it must have been recorded outside the main studio and then mixed in, as the performances are otherwise identical. Wilson, who is joined by bassist Arvell Shaw and drummer Bert Dahlander, is in fine form, since most of this music had been part of his repertoire for two decades. And Then They Wrote..., which makes up the other half of the CD, includes renditions of well-known pieces by 11 different pianists, ranging from Jelly Roll Morton and James P. Johnson to Duke Ellington and Count Basie, as well as modern players such as Thelonious Monk and Dave Brubeck. With Major Holley taking over for Shaw and Dahlander on hand once again, Wilson's interpretations of other pianist's landmark compositions are enjoyable, as each piece is recast with his trademark swinging sound. He also adds an upbeat original of his own, "Sunny Morning." Fans of Teddy Wilson will not be disappointed with this reissue, which includes the complete contents of both LPs.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 2:31
2 2:30
3 3:45
4 2:33
5 2:44
6 2:57
7 2:27
8 2:58
9 3:11
10 2:20
11 2:40
12 3:03
13 3:00
14 3:27
15 2:38
16 3:16
17 2:37
18 2:13
19 3:08
20 2:33
21 2:31
22 2:26
23 3:16
24 3:18
blue highlight denotes track pick