Henri Texier / Henri Texier Azur Quartet

An Indian's Week

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

In the early '90s, Henri Texier went on to form a new quartet (Azur) around a new rhythm section featuring pianist Bojan Zulfikarpasic and drummer Tony Rabeson. At the time, the combo was rounded out by the very much underrated Glenn Ferris on trombone. An Indian's Week documents the first steps of this quartet and, on a couple of tracks, also showcases two pillars of French jazz -- Michel Portal on bandoneon and Louis Sclavis on clarinets and soprano saxophone. The album can easily be remembered as the birth of one of France's best and tightest rhythm sections. It is also a great opportunity to hear at full length Glenn Ferris, a versatile and sensitive musician, exploring all the different aspects of his instrument. The program is composed of compositions penned by all bandmembers, plus a colorful and breakneck rendition of Sonny Rollins' "The Bridge." Despite this variety, this is an extremely cohesive set because of the original sound the quartet have already developed. The highlight is Texier's own "Indians/Desaparecido," a slow and dark piece in which Ferris' wah-wah style works surprisingly well when pitted against Sclavis' glistening clarinet. The overall mood oscillates between playful and mournful moments, with pieces that reflect Texier's political and social concerns. An Indian's Week marks a turn in Henri Texier's career and is a first step in the right direction.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 0:07 SpotifyAmazon
2 4:50 SpotifyAmazon
3 0:22 SpotifyAmazon
4 6:18 SpotifyAmazon
5 0:23 SpotifyAmazon
6 8:20 SpotifyAmazon
7 0:21 SpotifyAmazon
8 11:55 SpotifyAmazon
9 5:16 SpotifyAmazon
10 0:22 SpotifyAmazon
11 8:27 SpotifyAmazon
12 0:20 SpotifyAmazon
13 0:43 SpotifyAmazon
14 9:22 SpotifyAmazon
15 0:20 SpotifyAmazon
16 3:20 SpotifyAmazon
17 0:22 SpotifyAmazon
18 5:10 SpotifyAmazon
19 0:21 SpotifyAmazon
20 7:25 SpotifyAmazon
21 0:07 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick